I'm selling my rowing machine on Craigslist (referenced on my home page if it's still for sale) and I received an over-ask bid. My reply was simply "It's yours if you're local." This was his reply:
From: Charles Walker <charleswalk01@hotmail.com>
To: Daniel Norton
Date: Sun, Dec 21, 2008 at 6:42 AM
Subject: The WaterRower Natural Ash Rowing Machine w/Monitor
X-Originating-IP: [41.242.225.25]
To: Daniel Norton
Date: Sun, Dec 21, 2008 at 6:42 AM
Subject: The WaterRower Natural Ash Rowing Machine w/Monitor
X-Originating-IP: [41.242.225.25]
Sounds Good, [???]
I will like to proceed with the transaction asap and my mode of payment will be via bank check drawn on my bank (Bank Of America) as there are too many scams online with bogus paypal payment and money orders,the item will be picked up from you by my shipper so you don't have to worry about shipment of the item also the check will be sent with the fund to cover cost of item and also shipment by my shipping company due to company policy the amount i placed with my company can only be written on a single check so that is why i want you to receive the check and send the excess fund to my shippers that will arrange the pickup when the check clears at your bank,once your bank verify and cash the check you will deduct your fund and send the excess fund to the shipping company so they will proceed with the pickup because i also have other items to be picked up,i should have handled this myself but i am not available to do this now i am currently away for my company seminar that is why i want to do this to facilitate the transaction so proceed to delete the advert of this item if my mode of payment is accepted and get back to me asap with your full name,physical address and phone # to send the check to you.
Regards
Charles
13 comments:
Hi Dan,
I just got the exact same reply, word for word, from this guy Charles Walker. I am selling a treadmill for $800 --- he offered $900, and this email:
"Sounds Good,
I will like to proceed with the transaction asap and my mode of payment will be via bank check drawn on my bank (Bank Of America) as there are too many scams online with bogus paypal payment and money orders,the item will be picked up from you by my shipper so you don't have to worry about shipment of the item also the check will be sent with the fund to cover cost of item and also shipment...."
I've complained to craigslist...have you done anything else?
Nice catch,
Ron
I couldn't find a place to complain to Craigslist, so I posted the fraudster's E-mail address on Craigslist. Craigslist response was to delete my post. Bozos. Was this guy still accessing Craigslist using the same E-mail address?
There was an email on craigslist to send fraud complaints. I'm not at the same computer from which I sent it, and I don't remember what it was at the moment.
The original email he sent to me was from Charles Walker (as charleswalk02@hotmail.com). I haven't responded back to his scam offer, and today I received an email from chasw42@aol.com (gee, could "ChasW" be Charles Walker?) offering me $700 if I deliver it to Hamilton. I haven't bothered replying.
And craigslist has not gotten back to me. However, I am sharing your blog URL with everyone who responds to my ad -- about 6 people so far.
Hi Dan,
I am selling a stairmaster on Craigslist and got the same email word for word. I knew it was some type of scam! For the heck of it I googled the Charleswalk02 email address and I found you. Glad you blogged!
Wendy
Hi Dan,
I am currently selling a stairmaster on Craigslist and got the same offer word for word! I knew it was some kind of scam. Googled the charleswalk02 email and found your post. Thanks for blogging!
Wendy
selling a home gym on craigslist and got a similar reply from Charles Walker charleswalk010@hotmail.com. SCAM.
I too just got the same message (word for word) from this "Charles Walker" bozo. I knew it was a fake, but your blog confirmed it. I was selling my exercise bike for $600. on craigs list. I was to send the "change" to his shipper for pick up...........
I get this same email now for almost everything I post. I used to write them angry replies, but now I just delete them. I even got one for an air conditioner I was asking $150 for. Sheesh. Who would ship an air conditioner? Anyway, I consider these jokers just part of doing business on CG now. S'wat you pay such an otherwise awesome (and free) web service..
We are selling a wheelchair gym and got the exact same email reply from Charles as Daniel got. I don't get what he hopes to get from it. Our home address? Thanks for the blog.
Lou
I just got this wonderful note from Charlie, offering to pay $550 for my $400 iMac:
Hello,
Thanks for your quick response,am Charlie Walker.i will like to buy
this item for my son(David)and Am quite comfortable with the condition
of the item since i wont be making any repairs on it,and i will be
very ,more than happy if you can help me get this item shipped to him,
and am willing to offer $550 to include the shipping fees through the
United State Postal Service International That ship international, and
i will be paying you through my paypal account or U.S money order So
get back to me with your PayPal account Email address id so i can pay
you off on time, i will include the shipping address in the payment,or
if you don't have an account i can advise you to sign up for a pay pal
account its very useful. Hope to read from you now.
"Your Business is My Pleasure" .
Just got the same one as the last poster...
This character Charlie Walker contacted me thru my posting on Craigslist, 03/2010. He sent me a response almost identical to the one that TimJ posted. He's also capable of putting together phony Paypal emails. This email looked very real, but when I logged in to my Paypal account, there was no evidence that a payment had been sent. I forwarded the email to their security department. Don't know how much that'll help. I googled him the second he seemed so eager and found your blog. Very helpful!!! Thanks Dan!!
Also, he's now using this email address:
Charlie Walker
Who else should I notify?
the email address he's using now is:
pipirojohnson@gmail.com
Post a Comment